Local History Society Information

See also Sussex and Local Genealogical Websites

Please remember that, in general, local history societies, occupational societies and indexers are smaller than the countywide family history societies. The idea of contact with Local History Societies or Individual Researchers is not that they should carry out family history research but provide background information from research and knowledge already done. Please select the society of interest.

The original database was created when few societies had websites and from time to time we contacted each one to get the latest details for you. Now that most have the data online, we have substituted a listing of sites and links to ensure that the details are as up-to-date as possible.

Obviously one can search the internet for information about a place or parish. There are also listings of Sussex societies at

More information on occupations is at http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/Occupations.html

Amberley Working Museum www.amberleymuseum.co.uk
Angmering Village Life www.angmeringvillage.co.uk
Ardingly History Society www.ardingly.org/ardingly-history-society/
Arundel Museum Society www.arundelmuseum.org.uk/
Ashurst Wood Historians www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Ashurst_Wood_Historians/17886
Battle & District Historical Society battlehistorysociety.btck.co.uk/
The Beeding and Bramber Local History Society steyningmuseum.org.uk/beedingbramber.htm
Bexhill Museum Research Group www.bexhillmuseum.co.uk/
Billingshurst Local History Society www.billingshurst-community.org.uk/Localhistorysoc.php
Bognor Regis Local History Society www.bognor-regis.co.uk/bognor-local-history.html
Bolney Local History Society www.bolney.com/bolney history soc.htm
The Brewery History Society www.breweryhistory.com
Brickmakers Index www.davidrcufley.btinternet.co.uk/
Brighton Fishing Museum www.brightonfishingmuseum.org.uk/
Brighton History Centre www.brighton-hove-rpml.org.uk/Museums/brightonhistorycentre/Pages/home.aspx
Burgess Hill Local History Society www.burgesshillmuseum.co.uk/history_society/index.htm
Chichester Local History Society chichesterlocalhistory.org.uk/
Chichester District Museum www.chichester.gov.uk/index.cfm?articleid=16582
Coastguards Index www.genuki.org.uk/big/Coastguards/
www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/records/looking-for-person/coastguard.htm
Cowfold Village History Society www.westsussex.info/cowfoldhistory/
Crawley Museum www.crawleymuseums.org/
Crowborough Field Society http://www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Crowborough_Field_Society/28041
Customs Officers Superannuated between 1841 and 1891 www.genuki.org.uk/big/Coastguards/
Danehill Parish Historical Society www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Danehill_Parish_Historical_Society/5942
Ditchling History Project www.ditchlinghistoryproject.org/
Ditchling Museum Friends' Association www.ditchling-museum.com/friends.html
The East Grinstead Society www.eastgrinsteadsociety.org/
East Grinstead Town Museum www.eastgrinsteadmuseum.org.uk/
East Hoathly & District Preservation Society www.easthoathlypreservation.org.uk/
East Preston & Kingston Local History www.eastprestonvillage.co.uk/organisations.php#12
pastfinders.com/sussexhistory/east_preston_area.htm
Felbridge and District History Group www.felbridge.org.uk/
Felpham and Middleton Local History Workshop fmlhw.org.uk/
The Fernhurst Society www.fernhurstsociety.org.uk/
Ferring History Group www.ferringvillage.co.uk/societies/5-history-group.htm
Hailsham Historical and Natural History Society www.hailshamhistoricalsociety.co.uk/
Hartfield and District History Group www.hartfieldonline.com/Core/Hartfield-Parish-Council/Pages/Local_GroupsSocieties_2.aspx
Hastings Local History Group www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Hastings_Local_History_Group/21105
Hastings Fishermen's Museum www.ohps.org.uk/fishermens_museum/
Hastings Museum and Art Gallery www.hmag.org.uk/
Hastings Area Archaeological Research Group www.haarg.org.uk/
Heathfield & District History Society www.heathfield.net/listings/clubs-and-groups/east-sussex/any/heathfield-and-district-history-society/308
Henfield History Group hhg.100megsfree.com/
Horsham Museum Society www.horshammuseum.org/
Hurstpierpoint Historical Society www.hurstpierpoint-pc.org.uk/listLocalGroups.asp
www.local-history.co.uk/Groups/sussex.html
Ifold Local History Society www.local-history.co.uk/Groups/sussex.html
Lancing and Sompting Pastfinders sites.google.com/site/lancsompastfinders/Home
Lewes History Group leweshistory.org.uk/
Littlehampton Local History Society doompalm.westsussex.gov.uk/cgi-bin/civis_server.sh?session_no=1111767&enqtype=SECOND&enqpara1=RESULT&rcn=103173&media_code=&sec_code=&page=0&no_of_results=24&type=PHRASE
Friends of Lowfield Heath Windmill http://www.ockleywindmill.co.uk/lowfieldheathwindmill.htm
Macclesfield Museums Trust www.silk-macclesfield.org
Mayfield Local History Society www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Mayfield_Local_History_Society/40156
Newhaven Historical Society www.newhavenhistoricalsociety.org.uk
Northiam and District Historical and Literary Society www.northiamvillage.co.uk/Clubs%20&%20Societies/Northiam%20Historical%20And%20Literary%20Society.html
Nutley Local History Society www.nutleyhistoricalsociety.org/
Pagham Local History Group www.facebook.com/groups/pagham/
Peacehaven and Telscombe Historical Society www.history-peacehaven-telscombe.org.uk
Petworth Society petworthsociety.co.uk/
Pevensey and Westham Historical Society www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Pevensey_AND_Westham_Historical_Society/21220
Pub History Society www.pubhistorysociety.co.uk/
Regency Town House http://rth.org.uk
Ringmer History Study Group ringmer.info/ringmer-history-study-group.html
Rogate Society www.rogatevillage.co.uk/
www.e.volve.org.uk/directoryitem.aspx?index=627&item=2851&dataitem=7365
Friends of Romney Marsh Research Trust www.redcourt.dsl.pipex.com/
Rottingdean Preservation Society www.rottingdeanpreservationsociety.org.uk/
Rudgwick Preservation Society http://rudgwick-rps.org.uk/
Rustington Heritage Association www.rustingtonmuseum.org/#
Rye Castle Museum www.ryemuseum.co.uk/
Index of Seamen at Trafalgar www.ageofnelson.org
The Selsey Society www.selseysociety.co.uk/
The Shoreham Society www.shorehamsociety.org.uk/
Southwater Local History Group www.southwatersportsclub.co.uk/slhg/
Southwick (Sussex) Society southwicksociety.btck.co.uk/
Steyning Museum Trust steyningmuseum.org.uk/museumpage.htm
Storrington and District Museum Society www.storringtonmuseum.org/
Sussex Industrial Archaeology Society www.sussexias.co.uk/
Sussex Mills Group www.sussexmillsgroup.org.uk/
Sussex Record Society www.sussexrecordsociety.org
Tools and Trades History Society www.taths.org.uk/
Uckfield & District Preservation Society Local History Group www.udps.co.uk/
The Wadhurst History Society www.wadhurst.info/whs/
Warbleton and District History Group www.escis.org.uk/Entry/View/Warbleton_and_District_History_Group/4404
The Warnham Society www.warnhamsociety.org.uk/
Weald & Downland Open Air Museum www.wealddown.co.uk
Wealden Iron Research Group www.wealdeniron.org.uk
West Hoathly Local History Group www.hoathlyhub.info//History/
WSCC Library Service Local Studies Library www.westsussex.gov.uk/leisure/libraries/information_and_reference/local_studies.aspx
Westbourne Local History Group westbournevillage.org/histortygroup.html sic
Wivelsfield History Study Group www.wivelsfield.net
The Worthing Society www.worthingsociety.org.uk/

If details of a society or individual are not shown, contact Mrs Julie Goucher for more information at:

Anglers Rest, Grove Crescent, Teignmouth, Devon TQ14 9HP enclosing SAE, or 2 IRCs if overseas

or check the box to email

Please quote your SFHG membership number

Don't overlook the Sussex Online Parish Clerks site as a source of local information.